Award 2017

Kirsty Mackay is the second recipient of the Rebecca Vassie Memorial Award read more here.

Titled ‘The Fish That Never Swam’ – a reference to Glasgow’s coat of arms. Kirsty’s project will continue her work investigating the ‘Glasgow Effect’ – the term given to the disparity in health and life expectancy in the city compared to UK averages.

000071.jpgKirsty Mackay, The Fish That Never Swam (2018)

Two applications were highly commended: Dan Burwood for a proposal exploring the complex status of ‘Zambrano’ families, where a single parent born outside the EU has sole responsibility for a child who is a UK citizen; and Kate Stanworth for a proposal following the ‘murga’ street dancers in Argentina.

Dan Burwood_Maloula-6Dan Burwood Festival of the Cross, Syria (2009)

EmilianoKate Stanworth, Emiliano (2017)


Judges for the award included Karen McQuaid (senior curator, Photographers’ Gallery), Matthew Tucker (BBC news), critic and curator Jennifer Thatcher, photographer Ben Bird and Janet Vassie, Rebecca’s mother. The judges were impressed by Mackay’s strong personal connection to the story, her existing work to date and her depth of insight.

The deadline for applications was Monday, 2 October 2017 at 5pm (UK time).

Applications for the third Rebecca Vassie Memorial Award will open in late July 2018.


Print Partner:

Metro Logo strapline